Edible Posts

"If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world." – J.R.R. Tolkien

Syracuse

After a wonderful dessert experience here recently, I’d been meaning to come back and try their breakfast menu. On an uncharacteristically cold and depressing summer morning, a warm breakfast was required and the thought of Syracuse wouldn’t budge from my mind.

So with the promise of rich coffee, a hot breakfast in quiet surrounds, my friend and I headed off to Syracuse. We enjoyed easy conversation while sipping our long blacks in the slightly busy dining room. We watched the efficient staff bustling about, taking care of all the diners, while we waited for our meals.

My companion order the Syracuse Big Breakfast – poached, fried or scrambled eggs on toasted sourdough with bacon, mushrooms, tomato, pork and fennel sausage.

Syracuse Big Breakfast

Ordered with an extra serve of spinach, the dish was satisfying, but without overdoing it. I took a cheeky taste of the pork and fennel sausages and they were certainly delicious.

I went with what seems to be new breakfast trend in Melbourne – baked eggs.

Baked Eggs

Complete with tomato, chorizo, potato, yoghurt and mint, this was one of the better renditions of the dish that I’ve had. While not the best (that honour goes to Hardware Societe of course), it was definitely more than passable.

I like this restaurant, with its mounted wine openers as decorations, minimalist chandelier, and walls of wine. Good service and good food means if I get my way, I’m heading back again for lunch and dinner. Not just the one, no, both.

Syracuse
23 Bank Pl, Melbourne
Mon-Fri 730am-late, Sat 6pm-late

Syracuse on Urbanspoon

4 responses to “Syracuse

  1. Adrian (Food Rehab) January 24, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    Gosh…you just reminded me to hit up Hardware Societe again 🙂

  2. Hannah February 4, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    I’ve yet to try these mystical baked eggs that so abound in Melbourne! Surely somewhere in Canberra would make them…

    • Ecliss February 6, 2012 at 8:43 pm

      If you find them let me know!!! I’m visiting my parents during Easter and would love a decent cafe to while I’m up there.

Leave a comment