Edible Posts

"If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world." – J.R.R. Tolkien

Five66

It feels slightly strange for me to be reviewing this cafe seeing as I’ve been going to Five66 consistently for 2.5 years, far longer than I’ve even thought about writing a food blog.

But, I suppose now’s as good of a time as any to finally get around to showing off exactly why this place is so good. It is somewhat uninspiring-ly named I’ll admit seeing as it’s at 566 Flinders St, but what it lacks in creative naming, it makes up for in good food, coffee and service. The interior is brightly lit, yet still cozy, and decorated with various pieces of local artwork and the music playing is interesting yet unobtrusive.

Five66

Of course, a good cafe needs good coffee and Five66 (usually) delivers. The steady stream of customers is dealt with speedy, efficient and most of all, friendly service. Last time I went there with two friends, and the kitchen was organised enough to bring out all three dishes at the same time, with very little fuss or delay. It didn’t matter that the dishes varied dramatically: a Roast Vegetable and Cream Cheese Focaccia, Ricotta Pancakes with Berries, and a Vegetarian Folded Omelette.

Roast Vegetable and Cream Cheese Focaccia

Ricotta Pancakes with Berries

Vegetarian Folded Omelette

I love the delicious simplicity of the food, and it’s a hard decision every time I order. Perhaps that’s why I’m there so much. Five66 is great if you’re looking for good food that doesn’t take too long to arrive at your table, with a nice coffee on the side. Just try and not to all go there at the same time please, I’d still like to be able to haunt my favourite cafe.

Five66
566 Flinders St, Melbourne
Mon-Fri 7am-3pm, Sat-Sun 7am-2pm

Five66 on Urbanspoon

3 responses to “Five66

  1. melbourniangirl July 10, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    Looks good – will have to check I out.

  2. Adrian (Food Rehab) July 19, 2011 at 10:14 am

    Isn’t weird how you don’t tend to blog about the places you go to most. I was discussing this with other bloggers the day! Glad to know of another rockin cafe in the CBD

    • Ecliss July 19, 2011 at 12:10 pm

      Definitely! For every bit of you that wants to share your great find, another part wants to keep it greedily hidden. I still need to find one a little closer to work though, I haven’t settled on one I like within a block yet!

Leave a comment